8 Hours of Sepang – Yamaha wins the first 8 Hours of Sepang –


Yamaha wins the first 8 Hours of Sepang

8 Hours of Sepang - Yamaha wins the first 8 Hours of Sepang -

The Austrian team, which only rode Niccolò Canepa throughout the race, won in Malaysia ahead of the No. 88 Honda Asia Dream Racing and the No. 37 BMW Motorrad World Endurance Team. Debrief.

After pole position at home for Yamaha Sepang Racing n ° 21, it was his n ° 7 colleague from YART who managed to brave the elements to win the Sepang 8H – actually cut to 5:50 am due to very bad weather conditions. difficult -, first of the name and second round of 2019/2020.

  • MNC special file :
  • MNC special file :
  • EWC Calendar 2019-2020 :

Despite an electronic alert at the start of the race, Niccolò Canepa – the only driver chosen for his mastery of difficult conditions – passed the checkered flag in the lead but did not forget to thank his teammates Broc Parkes and Karel Hanika: "we all won together ", emphasizes the Italian on arrival.

8 Hours of Sepang - Yamaha wins the first 8 Hours of Sepang -

The YART is ahead of the Japanese team Honda Asia Dream Racing on the No. 88 CBR entrusted to the Malaysian Zaqhwan Zaidi, the Thai Somkiat Chantra and the Indonesian Andi Farid Izdihar.

Third at Sepang, the S1000RR n ° 37 of the BMW Motorrad World Endurance Team in the hands of Ilya Mykhalchyk and Markus Reiterberger won his second podium after that of the Bol d’Or, but without the French Kenny Foray, injured during practice and who did not not ride in a race. The official Belgian BMW team thus takes second place in the provisional general classification of the FIM EWC World Championship with 15 points behind the Suzuki Endurance Racing Team, 5th at Sepang but still in the lead thanks to their victory in .

Moto Ain Superstock winner

4th at the finish, the Moto Ain team again won the Superstock category and consolidated their place at the top of the Endurance World Cup with Roberto Rolfo, Robin Mulhauser and Hugo Clère. The Yamaha n ° 96 finishes the race ahead of the GSX-R n ° 2 of SERT and the ZX-10R n ° 1 of Webike SRC Kawasaki France, reigning world champion.

The German team GERT56 by GS Yuasa in the # 56 BMW finished 14th at the finish but second in Superstock with Lucy Glöckner, Stefan Kerschbaumer and Pepijn Bijsterbosch. Delayed by a crash at the start of the race, the Japanese team Tone RT Syncedge 4413 on the n ° 80 BMW of Tomoya Hoshino, Kokoro Atsumi and Takeshi Ishizuka finished third in the category and signed its first podium outside Japan.

On the side of the favorites, a clash between Mike di Meglio (FCC TSR Honda France) and Michael van der Mark (Yamaha Sepang Racing) sent the two bikes to the mat and made the two favorites lose contact with the head of the race. . After a pit stop, the Yamaha n ° 21 set off again beyond 40th place but managed to finish 7th thanks to excellent lap times (2’17.817 for Franco Morbidelli, fastest lap in the race) ahead of BMW Sepang Racing, 3ART Moto Team 95 (Yamaha) and ERC Endurance, which brings its Ducati Panigale into the Top 10.

The F.C.C. TSR Honda France n ° 5, returned to command after the collision, unfortunately lost all hope with a fall by Mike di Meglio one hour from the finish and placed 13th at the finish.

Suzuki JEG Kagayama, well placed in the leading trio, also lost a lot of ground due to a mechanical problem, as did the n ° 9 BMW of the Tecmas BMW GMC team which had made the show at the start of the race with Camille Hédelin, very ease on a wet track before being forced to retire.

  • Provisional classification of the 2019/2020 World Championship (SST)

Next meeting of the FIM EWC World Endurance Championship: April 18 and 19 at Le Mans. Stay connected !

Related articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *